On lingo.

[Hopefully, I can upload a video blog of this in illustration of the point, and also as a video project 😀 ]

In a conversation with my English-er cousin, we contemplated communications and media and what’s new and/or good.  We both agreed that social media is overrated to some extent, especially when it cuts into literal physical interaction[says the guy blogging instead of visiting at his grandparents’ house].  But her preferred medium is text and letters, which struck me as odd for one who eschews social media, which is in large part text-based.  The only exemption I realized later is social video, like Youtube, where the so much more of the english language can be expressed.

English is an vast ocean with entire worlds of subtext and undiscovered species of nonverbal gestures, above which the rolling waves of text, while impressive, pale in comparison.  Not that words aren’t vital.  I’m writing these thoughts down  to give my broader thoughts structure;  A skeleton to be animated later with muscles of inflection, sinews of reflex, actions with reaction.  Some like my cousin may better make words sing, and some like myself better sing with words[okay she sings very nicely too, but that’s not the point].

She will be half way across the world in England, which brings me to my second thought.  I’ve long considered finding some friend with whom to practice the old art of correspondence, just to keep my mind fresh.  When you sand you enjoyed the epistolary style[that *is* fancy-lingo for “letter writing”] I rejoiced inwardly.  However, since mail is to slow for the four months you’ll be there, and we both disdain textual social media maybe it would be worth trying something like VlogBrothers.  Hank and John Green[an author she may be familiar with] began writing to each other several years ago with videos rather than text, and have done quite well for themselves since.  I may just do it to build my video chops.

This entry was posted in General Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

